December 27, 2014

2014 Metro Manila Film Festival Winners

“Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo” is the best picture for Metro Manila Film Festival 2014 awards night held this Saturday, December 27 at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Pasay City.

Derek Ramsay and Jennylyn Mercado were awarded best actor and best actress for their performance in the romantic-comedy film "English Only Please."

The 40th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) organizers announced the full list of winners and awardees for the 2014 film competition in the awards night which was hosted by comedian-host Edu Manzano and 'Feng Shui 2' star Kris Aquino. Father Larry Faraon opened the 40th MMFF awards night ceremony with a prayer.

Eight (8) official entries have competed for the 2014 MMFF major award categories such as best picture, best actor, best actress and best director.

Entries to MMFF 2014 include Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles, Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo, Muslim Magnum .357, Praybeyt Benjamin 2, Feng Shui 2, My Big Bossing's Adventures, Shake, Rattle & Roll XV, and English Only, Please.

Here is the list of winners at the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival:

Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado for "English Only Please"
Best Actor: Derek Ramsay for “English Only Please”

2nd Best Picture: “English Only Please”
3rd Best Picture: “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”

Best Supporting Actress: Lotlot de Leon for “Kubot: Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Supporting Actor: Joey Marquez for “Kubot: Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon for “My Big Bossing's Adventures”
Best Director: Dan Villegas for “English Only Please”
Best Screenplay: “English Only Please”
Best Original Story: “English Only Please”
Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza for “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Editing: Marya Ignacio for “English Only, Please”
Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro for “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Visual Effects: “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Makeup: “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Original Theme Song: Von de Guzman for “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Festival Sound Engineer: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo”

New Wave:

New Wave Best Picture: “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Special Jury Prize: “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Best Actor: Allen Dizon “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Best Actress: Zsa Zsa Padilla for “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Best Director: Jason Paul Laxamana “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Kristoffer King for “Maratabat”
New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Gloria Sevilla “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Short Film Special Jury Prize: “Kalaw” by Asia Pacific Institute

Special Awards:

Commemorative Award: Manila Mayor Joseph Ejercito-Estrada
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
FPJ Memorial Award for Film Excellence: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo”
Youth Choice Award: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo”
Female Face of the Night: Nadine Lustre

This year's MMFF also includes 5 full-length entries under New Wave category. Official entries which were launched last November at Resorts World Manila are Ato Bautista's Gemini; Zig Dulay's M. (Mother's Maiden Name); Jason Paul Laxamana's Magkakabaung (The Coffin Maker); Arlyn Dela Cruz's Maratabat (Pride and Honor), and Diane Ventura's Mulat (Awaken). Independent films were screened from December 16 to 24, 2014 at SM Megamall and Glorietta 4 cinemas.

The mainstream festival has kicked-off on Thursday, December 25, 2014 and will have ongoing nationwide screening until the first week of January 2014. During the festival, no foreign films are shown in Philippine cinemas in order to showcase locally produced films.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...