May 6, 2013

PHILPOP Music Festival 2013 Announces Final 12

“Your theme, your genre, your song”
PhilPOP Musicfest with the main message of “Your theme, your genre, your song” encouraged Filipinos from all over the world to write song limited only by their creativity. The response to the call for entries was tremendous, generating a record breaking 3,383 submission!

The majority of the entries come from Quezon City, Makati, and Manila and outside the country like Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, Germany, China, Qatar, Abu Dhabi, Australia, Canada, Norway, Saudi Arabia, the United States, Ireland, UK, Thailand, and Macau. Most overseas entries came from the United States, official entries are down to the Final 12.

As announced by Philpop MusicFest Foundations’s Executive Director Ryan Cayabyab here are this year's finalists and their song entries:
(Photo c/o PhilPop )
Thyro Alfaro and Yumi Lacsamana "Dati"
Myrus Apacible "Sana Pinatay Mo Nalang Ako"
Paul Armesin "Segundo"
Marion Aunor "Do, Do, Do"
Joey Ayala "Papel"
Marlon Barnuevo "Araw, Ulap, Langit"
Gani Brown "Askal"
Raffy Calicdan "Space"
Johnoy Danao "Kung 'di Man"
Lara Maigue "Sayo Nalang Ako"
Jungee Marcelo "Pansamantagal"
Adrienne Sarmiento-Buenaventura "Sometimes That Happens"

Philpop MusicFest Foundation’s executive director Mr. Cayabyab shares that this is the most diverse collection of entries.

“I heard a lot of rock, pop, rap, hip hop, folk, R and B, ballad, a sprinkling of swing and dance music. There are some attempts to do a modernized kundiman and quite a lot of novelty songs that visibly entertained the adjudicating panel. I can’t wait to hear the top 12 that this year’s special panel will present in the finals night on July 6, 2013!”

Respected and renowned industry professionals, from record label executives, musicians, composers, singers, artists, radio personalities, and people from the academe make up the adjudication panel. The organizing committee had to fill around 140 seats throughout the 4-stage screening process.
“It was mind boggling at the start. Going through more than three thousand songs is no joke but Philpop has almost perfected the system. Maraming puedeng winners. Maraming puedeng hits. More than half of the 12 finalists were consistently in the top of the heap. 4 sets of panelists could not have been wrong. Dark horses made it too. It’s thrilling,” Cayabyab adds.

With the hands-on leadership of business tycoon Manny V. Pangilinan, the foundation, with the endeavour to involve itself in nation building through music, have set out to identify deserving songwriters who can inspire and spark positive change through their songs and are given the opportunity to shine. This is reinforced by its board of directors headed by Ricky Vargas, Ogie Alcasid, Noel Cabangon, Doy Vea, Al Panlilio, Patrick Gregorio, Randy Estrellado and Butch Jimenez.

The million-peso champion of the first ever Philippine Popular Music Festival is former Akafellas member Karl Villuga with his song “Bawat Hakbang”. The composition, which was about overcoming a personal crisis, was interpreted by Villuga along with his former groupmates and balladeer Mark Baustista.

“We are looking forward to again stage the biggest and most illustrious song writing competition in Philippines history with an even more songwriters vying for the 1 million pesos grand prize this 2013,” says Mr. Cayabyab.

PhilPOP is supported by Maynilad, Smart, Meralco, PLDT, Resorts World Manila, TV5, Metro Pacific Investments Corporation, NLEX, Sun Cellular, the First Pacific Leadership Academy, KBP, and Philex.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...