November 13, 2013

Baguio-based band Even wins at #ConverseGetLoud band competition

Baguio-based band Even gets the crown as the first-ever Converse Get Loud winner among the five semi-pro bands representing the best in the independent rock scene. #ConverseGetLoud song-writing band and musical competition ends last November 9 held at Excess Superclub Quezon City.

For "Get Loud", Even performed their winning piece entitled “Luminary.” Composed of Dyanne Licudine (vocals), Jam Bumanlag (guitars), Coco Saupan (bass) and Dan Allan Acosta (drums), Even from North Luzon is a Baguio-based band that describes their music as “dark and melancholic.” They take pride for their songs for their “well thought-out lyrics woven into heavy chugs and bass, unisoned into drumlines.”

Aside from the honor of being the country’s first “Get Loud” champ, Even take home P150,000 of cash and Converse products. Even also bagged The People’s Choice award.

“After selecting these bands through an exhaustive nationwide search, rallying their supporters through various online initiatives and organizing bar tours to get them revved up for the big day, we are down to the wire and eager to know who will be the chosen one,” says Eli Bonsol, Converse Philippines’ advertising and marketing manager.

“It’s just really a matter of giving an explosive performance on stage and establishing that unique connection with the audience.”

The first and second runner-ups and the two finalists were awarded with P100,000, P60,000 and P40,000 of cash and Converse products respectively.

“Even, Brisom, Kissbone, Bethany and Jad Montenegro are on the verge of making music history,” says Bonsol. “While we see the culmination of this year’s edition of ‘Get Loud,’ the winning band will start on an exciting journey that will offer them a multitude of possibilities.”

Converse Philippines officially launched #ConverseGetLoud band competition last October, with five local bands vying to be hailed as the first “Get Loud” over-all champion.The five bands for the “Get Loud” competition are Even from North Luzon, Brisom from the National Capital Region, Kissbone from South Luzon, Bethany from Visayas and Jad Montenegro from Mindanao.

Brisom, from NCR, is composed of Brian Sombero (vocals and guitar), Jeffrey Castro (drums and beats), Jason Rondero (bass), Tim Abbott (synthesizer and keys) and Terence Teves (guitar). Most of Brisom’s songs are based on Brian’s “soul-changing travels and life-changing realizations,” capturing the sound of soulful indie rock with “straightforward clarity” and “lyrics from the heart.” Their song is entitled “Waking Lives.”

Representing South Luzon, Kissbone is composed of Armin Joseph Pepito (guitar and vocals), Justine Sioson (guitar and vocals), Renz Jerome Villanueva (drums), Parker Cataquian (bass) and Allan Paulo Luching (rhythm guitar). Beginning with punk rock to emo-screamo genre during their days at Sienna College Taytay, Kissbone now regularly unleashes hardcore and rock metal music. The band performed their song titled “Distance and Motion.”
From the Visayas, particularly Cebu, Bethany is composed of Luis Quibranza III (lead vocals and guitar), Angelo Quibranza (lead guitar and vocals), Paolo Miguel Quibranza (drums and vocals) and Kevin Borromeo (bass). The Quibranza siblings immersed themselves into songwriting in 2008 and began performing soon after Kevin’s addition. The band takes pride in their delivery of alternative rock music that has “a lot of curve balls, intense guitar work, smart lyrics and infectious melodies.” Bethany performed the song “Keep Moving On.”
Jad Montenegro, from Mindanao, takes its name from its lead vocalist. Completing the band are Dave Ibao (guitar and backing vocals), Eric Luzada (lead guitar), Pjoe Sabanpan (bass) and Carlo Garcia (drums, backing vocals). After performing as a solo acoustic act in Davao, Jad felt the need to expand her musical horizons by forming a band with friends. For “Get Loud,” Jad Montenegro did “The Escapist.”
Jad Montenegro

The Converse Get Loud Philippines was hosted by Carl McFly of K-Lite 103.5FM. Judges for the finals were Francis Reyes, Ebe Dancel, Mark Lacay, John Hendrix, and Dan Mindanao.

For more info , visit

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...