June 6, 2013

Universal Records artists reign supreme at the 26th Awit Awards

The Awit Awards are the most prestigious music awards in the Philippines given annually by the Philippine Association of the Record Industry (PARI) to recognize the outstanding achievements in the music industry.
According to its official website, the objective of the award-giving body is to “promote the Philippine music industry, artistry and legacy.” It also aims to champion music-making and production, as well as showcase talents in an event dedicated to music. 

Universal Records continues to be the home of the best, most respected local musical acts. At this year’s Awit Awards, the label’s artists headline the list of nominees :

Noel Cabangon
Gary Valenciano
Sam Concepcion
Sponge Cola
Parokya Ni Edgar
Ogie Alcasid
Christian Bautista
She’s Only Sixteen.

Gloc-9 leads with five nominations Album of the Year for MKNM: Mga Kuwento Ng Makata, and for Sirena ­– Song of the Year, Best Rap, Best Collaboration and Best Music Video. The song also features Ebe Dancel.

Noel Cabangon takes home for four nominations: Album of the Year for Tuloy Ang Byahe, Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist and Best Ballad for Tuwing Umuulan At Kapiling Ka, and Best Regional Recording forUsahay.

Gary Valenciano also bags four nominations: Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist, Best Musical Arrangement and Best Engineered Recording for Send In The Clown, and Best Vocal Arangement for Overjoyed.

Sam Concepcion is nominated for Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist for Kontrabida, while Sponge Cola is included in the list of nominees for Best Performance by a Group for Pick Your Poison and Best Collaboration for XGF with Chito Miranda.

Kamikazee has two nominations: Best Rock/Alternative and Best Music Video for Halik. Parokya Ni Edgar is nominated for Best Rap for Bagsakan featuring Frank Magalona, and Gloc-9.

New band She’s Only Sixteen is nominated for the debut single Dying To Meet You for Best Performance by a new group, while their Roll The Dice is nominated as Best Engineered Recording.

Christian Bautista’s First Class album is nominated for Best Album Design and Ogie Alcasid’s Kape Ka Ba is one of the nominees for Best Novelty.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...