December 28, 2015

Erik Matti won MMFF 2015 Best Director for 'Honor Thy Father'

'Honor Thy Father ' won 5 awards held Sunday, December 27 at the 2015 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Awards Night at the Kia Theatre in Cubao, Quezon City.

Erik Matti won Best Director despite the controversy surrounding Honor Thy Father’s disqualification from winning Best Picture in the Metro Manila Film Festival. 

Honor Thy Father was disqualified from the Best Picture category by the MMFF executive committee for violation of MMFF rules and regulations, for non-disclosure of the film's participation in another festival.

Direk Erik Matti was not present during the awards night but here is his acceptance speech in full, read by Shiel Calde of Reality Entertainment at the ceremony.

The film Honor Thy Father awards including Best Supporting Actor for Tirso Cruz III, Best Original Theme Song, and Best Child Performer for Krystal Brimner and Best Makeup Artist (Ryan Panaligan and Erika Racela.)

Honor Thy Father movie is about a family who find themselves in a Ponzi scheme. Edgar (John Lloyd Cruz) and Kaye (Meryll Soriano) seeks to pay their family's debt to Kaye's co-parishioners. The couple fear that the parishioners may hurt their daughter.

First screened in the Contemporary World Cinema section of the 2015 Toronto International Film Festival, Honor thy Father was also screened in the Cinema One Originals Film Festival on November 2015. The film was accepted as an official entrant to the 2015 Metro Manila Film Festival

During the MMFF night, there are guests, artists,and producers air their sentiments on the film's 'Best Picture' disqualification issue.

While accepting her trophy for 'Buy Now, Die Later' and Walang Forever won second and overall Best Picture, respectively, Atty. Joji Alonso appealed to everyone to support all films and 'I hope you would watch all 8 films and not just two films. Thank you very much."
Atty. Joji Alonso said : "This should be an enjoyous moment. But I am not that happy. I only wished that Honor Thy Father was also part of this category. And I mean that with all sincerity. Dondon Montiverde, John Lloyd Cruz, and direk Erik Matti have created an outstanding film. And I would like to congratulate them for not stopping to dream and for continuing their advocacy in making meaningful films that hopefully would reach or touch the lives of people."

Congratulations Direk Erik Matti and to all the winners !

HOOQ, Asia’s largest video-on-demand service, is the exclusive presenter for the 41st Metro Manila Film Festival. The event was hosted by KC Concepcion and Richard Gutierrez. 

Check out the complete list of #MMFF2015 winners. 


No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...